New building, same outrageousness

Horrid stale tobacco combined with bizarre cleaning product smells wafting up from downstairs neighbors this week, through the windows, and today could barely exit my apartment because my same-level neighbor’s turbo-fragranced laundry detergent (at least I believe that to be the source) passes through her front door to contaminate the closed, unventilated landing that leads to stairs and elevator doors. At first I believed the smell to come from the floor cleaning products used by the cleaning people, but I’ve come to realize that it comes instead from my neighbor’s flat. Amazing. How can anyone possibly survive breathing that stuff full force day in, day out without developping acute asthma? Kudos to their immune system! As for the purely aesthetic aspect, I gather they have zero sense of smell, because their oven smokes out MY kitchen every time they use it, and occassionally they cook this god awful rotten meat, just putrid smelling stuff, unimaginably putrid. (I’m trying to seal off my kitchen from theirs to avoid having to deal with these odors–but the landing laundry fragrance problem, no way of escaping that).

Oh, by the way, these are very white French people. In fact almost all of the smell and odor problems in France that I’ve had over the years are with white French, “de souche” as they like to say here. Why do I mention this fact? Well, see my next post please!

Leave a Reply

